NASCAR Home Tracks

Google+ Twitter Facebook rss

NASCAR Pinty's Series History

January 13, 2016 - 1:00pm

The NASCAR Pinty’s Series is the premier motorsports league in Canada, where capacity crowds enjoying hotly-contested racing fuel Canada’s tremendous support for the NASCAR brand. With events held at a variety of road courses, and oval tracks across the country, it is truly Canada’s national series.


• The vehicles are template-bodied, weigh 3,000 pounds, and generate 550 horsepower.
• The NASCAR-approved spec engine produced by Robert Yates Race Engines is optional as a cost-effective alternative to a traditional “built” motor.
• The cars have a wheelbase of 107.5 inches, run on Goodyear tires, and have an estimated top speed of 160 mph.

• NASCAR announced in September 2006 the purchase of the CASCAR Super Series, the top stock-car racing series in Canada. At the same time, they announced a sponsorship agreement with Canadian Tire Corporation as the entitlement sponsor of the new series.
• A gradual implementation of both competition and safety-based modifications was made to the cars used in the CASCAR Super Series. Those included a move to a Goodyear 9.5” tire, the same size that is used in all NASCAR stock-car series, on-dash electrical and ignition systems, in-car fire suppression equipment and increased fuel cell protection. In 2009, the option of utilizing the NASCAR spec engine program was introduced.
• The series has raced in six provinces (Alberta, Nova Scotia, Ontario, Quebec and Saskatchewan) coast-to-coast across Canada with events in, or near, top Canadian markets such as Edmonton, Montreal, Quebec City, Saskatoon and Toronto.
• Ten NASCAR Canadian Tire Series drivers have competed in NASCAR national series events in the U.S., including two-time Pinty’s Series champion Andrew Ranger who has raced in all three national series.
• The series receives exceptional national broadcast coverage on TSN and RDS, providing both English and French-language race telecasts.
• With the 15-year-old age minimum, the series continues to attract young and diverse talent.
• In December of 2015, NASCAR in Canada announced a new name and entitlement sponsor – one that’s familiar to race fans across the country. NASCAR and Pinty's Delicious Foods Inc. announced a six-year series entitlement sponsorship agreement of NASCAR’s Canadian-based series that began on Jan. 1, 2016.

Canadian Tire Motorsport near Bowmanville, Ontario, has played host to more events than any other facility in series history. Getty Images for NASCAR

• The first race was held on May 26, 2007 at Cayuga Motor Speedway and Don Thomson Jr. won a spirited battle for the first series win.
• Andrew Ranger, in his first year of stock-car competition, won the second race on the road course at Canadian Tire Motorsport Park. He took over the lead in the point standings after that event and never relinquished it on his way to the first championship. The first season saw no less than five races decided on the final lap.
• Past NASCAR Canadian Tire Series champions include D.J. Kennington (2010 and 2012), Ranger (2007 and 2009) and Scott Steckly (2008, 2011, 2013, 2015).
• Capacity crowds have been the hallmark of the series, racing in front of 60,000 fans in both Edmonton and Montreal.
• In nine seasons, 13 drivers have made the leap to compete at the NASCAR national series level. Marc-Antoine Camirand, J.R. Fitzpatrick, Kennington, Ranger, Martin Roy, Steckly, Alex Tagliani, Thomson and Derek White have competed in the NASCAR XFINITY Series along with Jean-Francois and Louis-Philippe Dumoulin. Fitzpatrick, Alex Guenette, Kennington, Roy, Tagliani and White have raced in the NASCAR Camping World Truck Series. Ranger finished third in the 2009 NASCAR XFINITY Series event after having a spirited battle with eventual race winner Carl Edwards for much of the race. In August 2011, a series regular made a start in the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series when Ranger took the green flag at Watkins Glen (N.Y.) International. Tagliani also has five poles and five top fives in NASCAR national series competition.

Jason Hathaway (left), D.J. Kennington (center) and Scott Steckly (right) are the only drivers that have competed in every race through the series' first nine years. Getty Images for NASCAR