NASCAR Home Tracks

Google+ Twitter Facebook rss

NASCAR Celebrates 60 Years of Modified Champions

DAYTONA, Fla. (Dec. 18, 2007) -- Red Byron was the first. In 1948, Byron won the first sanctioned NASCAR event -- in a Modified -- and went on to win the 1948 NASCAR Modified Division championship.

Last Friday night at the Mohegan Sun Resort, Donny Lia was officially crowned the 2007 NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour champion, making him the 60th Modified champion in NASCAR history. And with Lia's coronation, NASCAR and series sponsor Whelen Engineering kicked off a celebration of the rich legacy of NASCAR's Modified division that will last throughout 2008.

> More